ADMINISTRATION.

63.--Income and Expenditure in Canada of Companies, other than Canadian, doing Business other than Fire and Life, 1911.

Companies.	Income (cash).			Expenditure (cash).			Excess
	Premiums	Interest & Dividends on Stock.	Total Cash Income.	Paid for Losses.	Gen- eral Expen- diture.	Total Cash Expen- diture.	Income over Expen- diture.
	\$	\$	\$	\$	\$	\$	s
American & Foreign Marine American Surety British & Foreign Marine. Fidelity Casualty Co International Casualty International Fidelity Lloyds Plate Glass London Guarantee and Accident Marine Insurance Co Maryland Casualty National Provincial Plate Glass National Surety National Surety New York Plate Glass Ocean Accident & Guarantee Ocean Marine	19,504 1,294 159,729 10,268 6,400 166,833 376,557 67,174 416,781 7,015 22,736 19,165	4,626 8,780 none. 11,331 none. 2,431 1,266	5,974 164,509 10,268 6,400 171,459 385,337 67,174 428,112 7,015 25,167 20,431	402 130 55, 252 1, 713 32, 173 116, 961 17, 452 156, 017 3, 458 3, 178 9, 093	258 80,252 3,957 340 121,485 165,976 15,345 135,049 3,862 5,542 7,344 200,835	11, 657 388 135, 504 4, 437 2, 053 153, 658 282, 937 32, 797 291, 066 7, 320 8, 720 16, 437 397, 691	12,747 5,588 29,000 5,831 4,34 17,801 102,400 34,377 137,046 -30(16,447 3,994 167,310
Railway Passengers United States Fidelity			123,526 147,823	42,246	55,587	97,833	25,69
Total	2, 127, 276	51,536	2,178,812	669,922	872,844	1,542,766	636,04

VIII.—ADMINISTRATION.

Parliamentary Representation.—The Parliament of the Dominion of Canada consists of the Senate with 87 members and of the House of Commons with 221 members, senators being appointed for life by the Governor General and members of the House of Commons being elected by the people. The limit of duration for each Parliament is five years. A Redistribution Act passed after each census readjusts the number of representatives in the House of Commons in accordance with rules laid down in Section 51 of the British North America Act, 1867, of the Imperial Parliament These rules provide that the province of Quebec (30-31 Vict., c. 3). shall always have the fixed number of 65 members and that there shall be assigned to each of the other provinces such a number of members as will bear the same proportion to the number of its population (ascertained by the census) as the number 65 bears to the population of Quebec.

The four original provinces of the Dominion were Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, which were given parliamentary representation according to Section 37 of the British North